Georgia Department of Agriculture

Appointments to Serve on the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions


Georgia Department of Agriculture
Gary W. Black, Commissioner
19 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30334

Find us on Facebook • Follow on Twitter: @GDAFoodSafety@GeorgiaGrown


Press Release
Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Office of Communications

Appointments to Serve on the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions

The Ex Officio Committee for the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions met on Tuesday, July 11, 2016, to make the following appointments to serve on the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions:

Beef Commission:

    John Callaway, Coweta County
    Ernie Ford, Calhoun County
    Allen Wiggins, Turner County
    Jeff Duncan, Madison County
    Kenneth Murphy, Meriwether County

Cotton Commission:

    Matt Coley, Dooly County
    Steven Meeks, Wayne County

Equine Commission:

    Beth Williams, Oconee County
    Barbara Kelly, Peach County
    Jordan Vaughn, Monroe County (advisory member)

Tobacco Commission:

    Jerry Wooten, Jeff Davis County

Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions are created by the Georgia Legislature and receive funds from farmer-approved market orders, which allow for collection of assessments on sale of the commodity. Funds received by the commodity commission can be spent for research, education and promotion of the commodity. The Equine Commission receives its funds from the sale of the Equine Specialty License plate for motor vehicles. Commission member terms are three years.


About the GDA The Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA) is the voice of the state’s agriculture community. The department's mission is to provide excellence in services and regulatory functions, to protect and promote agriculture and consumer interests, and to ensure an abundance of safe food and fiber for Georgia, America, and the world by using state-of-the-art technology and a professional workforce. For more information, visit



Site Map | Printable View | Copyright © 2022 Georgia Department of Agriculture.