Georgia Department of Agriculture

Five Georgia counties receive disaster designation

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

State Commissioner of Agriculture Gary W. Black is alerting farmers in five Georgia counties to a federal agricultural disaster declaration that may make them eligible for assistance due to losses from drought.

The five counties are Camden, Charlton, Clinch, Echols and Ware. The counties are designated in the federal agricultural declaration because they border with Florida counties that were just named primary disaster areas due to drought.

In November, the five counties had already been included with most other Georgia counties in a federal agricultural disaster declaration due to losses from drought and excessive heat.
A disaster designation by the U.S Secretary of Agriculture makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments (SURE) Program

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance. FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, security available, and repayment ability. SURE Program applications for 2010 crop losses will be accepted in 2011, when the 2010 farm revenue date required by statute becomes available

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

# # #

Site Map | Printable View | Copyright © 2022 Georgia Department of Agriculture.