Georgia Department of Agriculture

dev1

Feed

The Feed Program administers the rules and regulations of the Georgia Commercial Feed Act related to animal feeds by regulating labeling and minimum quality standards for animal feed offered, exposed or transported for sale in Georgia. The program is responsible for licensing of feed manufacturers and consumer protection related to animal feed.

The Georgia Feed Laws and Rules and Regulations require that all feed manufacturers obtain a commercial feed license and register all pet foods or specialty pet foods in packages of 10 pounds or less. This Law is designed to ensure that feed manufacturers properly label their products. This is done by label review and product sampling.

Fee requirements: $75.00 for original license, $40.00 per pet food or specialty pet food less than or equal to 10 pounds. The license fee is based on annual tonnage (maximum license fee and registration fees-$2,000.00) sold.

A notarized Consent to Service of Process Form is required of all out of state companies.

What classification does my feed business fall under? Find out here
Not sure if your business is registered as a Food Facility? Follow this Registration User Guide

Sign up for Animal Feed Recall Alerts

Have a question about animal feed? Want to receive animal feed recall alerts? The GDA Ag Inputs Section sends out email alerts for animal feed-related recalls impacting the State of Georgia. To add your email to the list, Click Here. Please direct any animal feed-related questions or concerns to feedrecalls@agr.georgia.gov.
Site Map | Printable View | Copyright © 2017 Georgia Department of Agriculture