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Hemp Grower License Application Guidelines 
 

• The Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA) is 
administering the Georgia Hemp Farming Act as 
authorized by O.C.G.A § 2-23-1 et seq. 

• This Hemp Grower License Application Packet is 
designed to provide sufficient instructions for 
completion by any individual who would be 
prepared to participate in the Georgia Hemp 
Program. The application packet includes a 
broad understanding of the program, but 
applicants should read the Georgia Hemp 
Farming Act (O.C.G.A. § 2-23-1 et seq.), the 
Hemp Grower Rules (Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. R. 
40-32-2, and the USDA Interim Final Rule. 

• Please make sure to fully review all application 
materials and Grower License Rules prior to 
contacting hemp program staff with questions. 
GDA is not in a position to offer direct 
consultation on completing a Hemp Grower 
License application or to educate individuals 
about the production of hemp. 

• Anyone who intends to grow hemp in the State 
of Georgia must successfully complete the full 
application process with the GDA and be issued 
a Hemp Grower License prior to receiving, 
producing, cultivating, handling, or storing 
hemp plants or seeds.  

• A Hemp Grower License does not allow the 
Licensee to process hemp. A Hemp Processor 
Permit is required for the processing of hemp 
plants. Licensed Hemp Growers who intend to 
process hemp must apply separately for a Hemp 
Processor Permit. 

• Renewal applications, annual license fees, and 
annual criminal background checks must be 
submitted by December 1, 2020. Licenses will 
expire on December 31, 2020 if the renewal 
application, renewal fee, and background 
checks are not timely submitted. 

• The Hemp Grower License fee is $50.00 per 
acre intended to be cultivated (up to a 
maximum fee of $5,000.00). 

• Georgia Hemp Grower License applicants must 
be qualified agricultural producers and be able 
to provide sufficient proof including, but not 
limited to the following:  

o A current Georgia Agriculture Tax 
Exemption Certification (GATE Card); 

o Select IRS forms (see Rule 40-32-2-
.01(3)(b) for the full list); or 

o Any tax returns, forms, sales receipts, or 
other information or documentation as 
may be requested or required by the 
Commissioner. 

• Georgia Hemp Grower License applicants must 
provide a copy of the deed or lease for each 
grow site property, whether it is a field or a 
greenhouse, along with copies of relevant 
easements or licenses as proof of legal 
authority to cultivate hemp on the site. 

• Background checks are required for each 
owner, key participant, and person holding a 
beneficial interest in the Hemp Grower License. 
Key participants include a partner in 
partnership, or a person with executive 
managerial control in a corporation (e.g. CEO, 
COO, CFO, etc.). Background checks must be 
received and reviewed by GDA prior to issuance 
of a Hemp Grower License. 

• Applicants must provide the name and contact 
information of the Permittee(s) with whom the 
applicant has entered into or intends to enter 
into an agreement pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 2-23-
7 and the affidavit(s) required by O.C.G.A. § 2-
23-6. The affidavit(s) must be in the form 
provided by GDA.  
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• Each Licensee must have a Department-
approved sampling agent collect samples from 
the flower material of each lot of cannabis 
plants for delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 
concentration level testing within 15 days of the 
anticipated harvest.  The Licensee must not 
harvest any cannabis prior to samples being 
taken.  The Licensee must then harvest the crop 
not more than fifteen (15) days following the 
date of sample collection.  

• All costs associated with the production of 
hemp are the responsibility of the Licensee 
including, but not limited to, costs for sampling 
and testing of hemp plants. 

• No person will be issued more than one Hemp 
Grower License, nor will any person be 
permitted to have a beneficial interest in more 
than one Hemp Grower License.  

• Hemp Grower Licenses cannot be sold, 
assigned, transferred, pledged, or otherwise 
disposed of, alienated, or encumbered to or by 
another person, business, individual, or entity. 

• Hemp must not be cultivated, handled, 
harvested, or stored in any location that is not 
listed in the Hemp Grower License Application. 

• As a reminder, “hemp” means the plant species 
Cannabis sativa L. and any part of that plant, 
including the seeds thereof and all derivatives, 

extracts, cannabinoids, isomers, acids, salts, and 
salts of isomers, whether growing or not, with a 
total THC concentration of not more than 0.3 
percent. The Hemp Grower License does not 
give you the ability to grow or handle cannabis 
materials with a total THC concentration 
greater than 0.3 percent.  

• Cannabis plants with a total THC concentration 
greater than 0.3 percent constitute marijuana, a 
schedule I controlled substance, and must be 
disposed of by a DEA-registered reverse 
distributor and in compliance with the Hemp 
Grower Rules. If a sample analysis of your plants 
reveals total THC levels above 0.3 percent, you 
will need to contact a DEA-registered reverse 
distributor and arrange for disposal of all plants 
with the same GPS coordinates. 

• Any person who materially falsifies any 
information contained in an application for a 
Hemp Grower License will be ineligible to 
receive a Hemp Grower License or otherwise 
participate in the Georgia Hemp Program. 

• Failure to comply with the Georgia Hemp 
Farming Act or its Rules may result in 
enforcement action including, but not limited 
to, corrective action plans, suspension from the 
program and the destruction of hemp materials.  
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Hemp Grower License Application 

Any person producing or intending to produce hemp must have a valid Hemp Grower License prior to receiving, 
producing, cultivating, handling, or storing hemp. For more information, see the Georgia Department of 
Agriculture Hemp Growers and Processors Rules, chapter 40-32-2.  

The initial Hemp Grower License fee is $50 per acre cultivated, up to a maximum application fee of $5,000.  This 
fee is payable once the application has been approved. 

 

Applicant Contact Information 

 

Applicant Name (individual full name or legal business name)                                                                                            

Applicant Physical Address 

Street                                                                                                                                                                    

City                                                         State                  Zip                        County                                                       

Applicant Mailing Address 

Street or PO Box                                                                                                                                                     

City                                                         State                  Zip                        

Phone                                                     Email                                                                  
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Applicant Business Information 

If applying as a business: 

Business Structure Type (LLC, Sole Proprietorship, etc.)                                                                        

Employer Identification Number (EIN)                                                                                           

Primary Contact  

Name                                                                                                         

Mailing Address: Street or PO Box                                                                                                                

City                                                         State                  Zip                        

Phone                                Email                                                                  Job Title                                                      

 

List all business members (each owner, key participant, and person holding a beneficial interest).  Attach 
additional pages if needed.   

 

Name    Title   Phone   Email   
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Acreage 

 

Maximum total acres of hemp intended to be cultivated in fields  

during this licensing period                                                         

The license fee will not be prorated for fractions of acres.  Fractional acreage will be rounded up to the next 
whole number for fee calculation purposes. 

 

Maximum number of greenhouses or other buildings or structures intended to be used for cultivation  

during this licensing period                                                         

Each greenhouse or other building or structure in which hemp is cultivated will be considered a separate acre for 
fee calculation purposes  

 

Note: Any Licensee who cultivates more acres than that which is listed above will be deemed to have violated 
their Hemp Grower License and will be subject to enforcement under the Georgia Hemp Farming Act and 
these Rules.   
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Acreage Details 

Enter the following information for each property on which a Grow Site (field or greenhouse to be used to 
cultivate and harvest hemp) is located.   

 

Physical Address                                                                                                          

 

Do you own or lease this property?      Own        Lease         

 

City                                                         State                  Zip                       County                                                       

 

Legal Description of this property (obtained from the county courthouse). 

 

 

 

 

List all fields and/or greenhouses on this property. 

Type    GPS coordinates in decimal degrees   Square Footage 
(Field or Greenhouse)  of entrance to greenhouse or center of field  (for greenhouses) 
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Storage Facilities 

Enter the following information for each property on which a storage facility is located.   

 

Physical Address                                                                                                          

 

City                                                         State                  Zip                       County                                                       

 

Do you own or lease this property?      Own        Lease         

 

Legal Description of this property (obtained from the county courthouse). 

 

 

 

 

List all storage facilities on this property.  

GPS coordinates of entrance    Square Footage 
to building (decimal degrees)  

                                                                                                                         

                                                                                                                         

                                                                                                                         

                                                                                                                         

                                                                                                                         

                                                                                                                          



 
 

 Georgia Department of Agriculture: 2020 Hemp Grower Application 04/14/2020 
SAMPLE DOCUMENT – NOT FOR OFFICIAL USE 

Processing 

Check all that apply: 

 
            I intend to process the hemp that I grow. (requires a Hemp Processor Permit) 

 

 

            I intend to enter into an agreement with an approved Permittee to process the hemp that I grow. (Must 
attach affidavits of the applicant and every Permittee with whom such applicant has entered into a 
written agreement pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 2-23-7 in which both parties swear that they have entered into 
or intend to enter into such an agreement.) 

 
Provide contact information for each Permittee.   
 

Permittee Physical Address 

Street                                                                                                                                                                   

City                                                         State                  Zip                        County                                  

Permittee Mailing Address 

Street or PO Box                                                                                                                                             

City                                                         State                  Zip                        

Phone                                                     Email                                                                  
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Certification and Signature 

Initial each of the statements below: 

 

                    I have read and understand the Grower License Terms and Conditions of the Rules of the Georgia 
Department of Agriculture concerning Hemp Growers and Processors (Chapter 40-32-2-.02), and I agree to abide 
by all of these terms and conditions. 

 

                    I certify that I am a qualified agricultural producer as defined in the Rules of the Georgia Department 
of Agriculture concerning Hemp Growers and Processors (Chapter 40-32-2-.01(ss)), and I agree to provide 
documentation of this upon request. 

 

                    I hereby consent and agree to allow representatives of the Department, the Georgia Bureau of 
Investigation, and other affected state and local law enforcement agencies to enter all premises where hemp is 
being grown or handled for the purpose of conducting physical inspections and ensuring compliance with the 
requirements of the Georgia Hemp Farming Act and its Rules. 

 

                    I understand that by providing inaccurate or false information, my application may be rejected or the 
Hemp Grower’s License may be revoked. 

 

 

 

                                                                                                                                                          
Signature of Applicant or Authorized Representative  Date 

 

 

 

                                                                                                   
Print Name 
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Application Checklist 

Please make sure your application packet includes each of the documents below. 

If applying as a business: 

• Current Certificate of Existence obtained through the Georgia Secretary of State’s Office. 
• Any required local business license(s). 

Grow Sites: 

• An aerial map or photograph (satellite imagery) that clearly shows the boundaries and dimensions of 
each grow site (field or greenhouse) and storage. 

• A copy of the deed or lease for each Grow Site property, whether it is a field or a greenhouse, along with 
copies of relevant easements or licenses as proof of legal authority to cultivate hemp on the Grow Site. 

If you intend to enter into an agreement with an approved Permittee to process the hemp that you grow.  

• Affidavits of the applicant and every Permittee with whom such applicant has entered into a written 
agreement pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 2-23-7 in which both parties swear that they have entered into or 
intend to enter into such an agreement. 

 

 

Background Check 

Once the GDA has notified you that your application qualifies you for a Hemp Grower license, you must 
complete background checks for all persons holding a beneficial interest in the permit (individual applicant, 
owner and key participants of a business).  Instructions for completing the background checks will be available 
on the GDA website. 
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 Appendix: Affidavits  

 
 

If you intend to enter into an agreement with an approved Permittee to process the hemp that you 
grow, GDA must receive affidavits of the applicant and every Licensee with whom you have 
entered into a written agreement pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 2-23-7 in which both parties swear that 
they have entered into or intend to enter into such an agreement. 

 

Use the template on the following page for all affidavits. The affidavit is available for download on the 
Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA) website at agr.georgia.gov/georgia-hemp-program.aspx 
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AFFIDAVIT ATTESTING TO THE EXISTENCE OF AN AGREEMENT OR THE INTENT 
TO ENTER INTO AN AGREEMENT GOVERNING THE BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP 

BETWEEN A HEMP PROCESSOR AND A HEMP GROWER  
AS REQUIRED BY O.C.G.A. § 2-23-6(b)(2) 

 

I,____________________________________(Processor Agent), am a legal agent for 

___________________________________________ (Processor Legal Business Name), a hemp 

processing facility located at ______________________________________________________ 

(Physical Address) that intends to apply for, has made an application for, or has been issued a 

Hemp Processing Permit by the Georgia Department of Agriculture.  

I,__________________________________(Grower), am a qualified agricultural producer 

located at _______________________________________________ (Physical Address) who 

intends to apply for, has made an application for, or has been issued a Hemp Grower License by 

the Georgia Department of Agriculture. 

We, the above-described parties, do hereby swear or affirm that we have entered into or 
intend to enter into an agreement governing our business relationship, as required by O.C.G.A § 
2-23-7. 
 
 I hereby declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct. 

 
 
_________________________________     ____________________________________ 
Processor Agent Signature    Grower Signature 
 
_________________________________  ____________________________________ 
Date       Date 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me this   Sworn to and subscribed before me this 
 
_____day of ________________, ________. _____day of ________________, ________. 
 
____________________________________   ____________________________________ 
NOTARY PUBLIC     NOTARY PUBLIC 
 
My commission expires:________________  My commission expires:________________ 


