Structural Pest Control Division

Georgia Department of Agriculture

Compliance Fact Sheet
Employee Registration

This fact sheet is for structural pest control operators and technicians. This notice provides guidance on
how to comply with the employee registration rule of the licensing chapter of the Rules of the Georgia

Structural Pest Control Commission (SPCC).

Registered Employee Definition

A registered employee is a non-certified
employee such as a technician, salesperson,
inspector or other employee involved with the
solicitation or performance of any phase of
structural pest control.

Employee Registration

10 Hours of Classroom Training

The licensee (pest control company) is
responsible for registering all non-certified
employees within 30 days of employment. No
employee may solicit business or perform pest
control work except in the presence of a certified
operator or registered employee until the
employee has satisfied all requirements for
employee registration.

Notifications

The licensee is responsible for notifying GDA if a
non-certified employee is not registered within

30 days of employment. Notification should be
sent to pest@agr.georgia.gov.

Employee Registration Requirements

1. A minimum of 18 years of age

2. 10 hours of classroom training

3. 70 hours of on the job training
experience

4. Pass the employee registration
examination

5. Submit application and registration fee

10 Hours of classroom training must be
completed prior to examination. This training
must cover each of the required training areas
listed below. The training may also include
additional topics that are included in the
Employee Registration Manual. The training
must be provided by a certified operator or an
approved SPCC instructor. The training must be
reviewed by the SPCC unless the training is
provided in-house by an employee.

1. State and Federal laws and regulations.

2. How to read and interpret a pesticide
label.

3. Handling of emergencies and spills and
understanding signs and symptoms of
pesticide poisoning.

4. Emergency practical treatment for
pesticide exposure, how to obtain
emergency medical care and
decontamination procedures.

5. Proper methods of storing, mixing,
loading and transporting pesticides.

6. Proper methods of handling, applying and
disposing of pesticides.

7. Safety and health issues including proper
use of personal protective equipment.

8. Hazards posed by toxicity, exposure and
routes of entry when handling pesticides.

9. Acute and delayed reactions to
pesticides.

10. Potential adverse effects to the
environment from drift, run off, and
groundwater contamination.
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Employee Registration Manual

This manual is intended to prepare technicians
for the Employee Registration Examination.
Employee Registration Manual (click to follow
the link).

70 Hours of On the Job Training

Exam Information

The employee must be under the constant
personal supervision of a currently certified
operator or currently registered employee. The
training must include a minimum of 70 hours in
the category(ies) in which registration is sought.
The trainer must be a registered employee or
certified operator.  This training must be
completed prior to making application for
employee registration.

SPCC Pre-examination Training Form

This examination includes 100 questions and is
based on the Employee Registration Manual.
The applicant must take and pass the employee
registration exam with a minimum score of 70
percent. If an applicant fails the examination,
there is a two-day waiting period for re-
examination.

Application for Employee Registration

This form was developed as a tool to assist in
compliance with the training requirements of
Rule 620-3-.02(1)(e) and to ensure that the
requirements are met for new employees and
employees that are required to retest. SPCC Pre-
Examination Training Form (click to follow the
link)

Is the SPCC Pre-examination Training Form
required?

The licensee must submit the employee
registration application along with the $10.00
registration fee. The fee must be paid within 90
days of passing the registration examination.
After 90 days, re-examination is required.

Categories

Employees can only be registered in the
operational categories currently held by the
licensee.

Temporary Employee Registration

The SPCC form is required. This form includes
the requirements and will assist with
compliance. Companies must use the SPCC Pre-
examination Training Form beginning 07-01-
2019.

Can the 10 hours of classroom training include
training based on the Employee Registration
Manual?

The employee may work for 15 business days
after notification of passing the examination
provided that the licensee has submitted the
application and payment of the registration fee.
To make application for Employee Registration
(click to follow the link)

Employee Registration Card

Yes. The 10 hours of classroom training must
include the required training topics that focus on
pesticide safety. The training may also include
other topics in the manual such as pest
identification, pest biology, IPM and application
techniques. The additional lines on the form are
provided to record training topics from the
Employee Registration Manual.

GDA will issue a credential once all requirements
of employee registration are met. The credential
must be carried by the registered employee at all
times during the performance of pest control
work and be displayed upon request.

Lost Employee Registration Card

In an event that an employee registration card is
lost or damaged, a replacement card may be
issued by GDA for a $10.00 fee.


http://agr.georgia.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/ag_plantindustry/structural_pest_control/files/GA-SPCC-Employee-Registration-Manual-Effective-March-2018.pdf
http://agr.georgia.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/ag_plantindustry/structural_pest_control/files/GA-SPCC-Employee-Registration-Manual-Effective-March-2018.pdf
http://agr.georgia.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/ag_plantindustry/structural_pest_control/files/SPCS-18-01-Pre-Examination-Training-Form.pdf
http://agr.georgia.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/ag_plantindustry/structural_pest_control/files/SPCS-18-01-Pre-Examination-Training-Form.pdf
http://agr.georgia.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/ag_plantindustry/structural_pest_control/files/SPCS-18-01-Pre-Examination-Training-Form.pdf
http://agr.georgia.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/ag_plantindustry/structural_pest_control/files/SPCS-18-01-Pre-Examination-Training-Form.pdf
http://www.kellysolutions.com/GA/Structural/UpdateInfo/Login.asp
http://www.kellysolutions.com/GA/Structural/UpdateInfo/Login.asp

When must the pre-examination training be
repeated?

Transfers

e |f the employee fails the examination
three consecutive times, the classroom
training is required to be repeated
before retaking the examination.

o If the employee fails the examination
four consecutive times or any
subsequent examination, the classroom
training is required to be completed
before retaking the examination.

o If the employee registration is not
renewed before October 1** of odd
numbered vyears, all initial training
requirements are required to be
repeated before re-examination.

When can a new category be added to a
current employee registration?

An Employee Registration can be transferred
from one licensee to another. The licensee must
submit the employee registration application
along with the $10.00 registration fee.

Termination

The licensee is responsible for notifying GDA
when a registered employee is no longer
employed. This notification should be submitted
to pest@agr.georgia.gov.

Non-registered employees

e When the employee registration is
renewed and re-registration training
requirements are met in the new
category or

e |f the examination date is during the
current renewal period or

e When the employee completes pre-
examination training and re-
examination requirements.

All non-registered employees must be under the
constant personal supervision of a certified
operator or registered employee. Non-
registered employees include any person
assisting with the performance of any phase of
pest control including but not limited to day
laborers, contractors, canine handlers and bee
removal experts.

Online Resources

Georgia Pest Exam

Examination Information

Laws & Regulations

Georgia Structural Pest Control Commission

Also listed at www.agr.georgia.gov/structural

If further assistance is needed, contact the
Structural Pest Control Office or an inspector at
(404) 656-3641 or inspection@agr.georgia.gov

The Georgia Structural Pest Control Commission and Georgia Department of Agriculture have issued this guidance document to help pest management

professionals comply with the Rules of the Georgia Structural Pest Control Act. This document does not include all regulatory requirements. Refer to the

complete Rules of the Georgia Structural Pest Control Act for all rules and regulations.

SPD: 18-05 Employee Registration
Issued 08-07-18
Revised 11-12-19


mailto:pest@agr.georgia.gov
mailto:pest@agr.georgia.gov
mailto:pest@agr.georgia.gov
https://www.gapestexam.com/
https://www.gapestexam.com/
http://agr.georgia.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/ag_plantindustry/structural_pest_control/files/sps-12-01-Exam-Information.pdf
http://agr.georgia.gov/Data/Sites/1/media/ag_plantindustry/structural_pest_control/files/sps-12-01-Exam-Information.pdf
http://agr.georgia.gov/laws-and-regulations.aspx
http://agr.georgia.gov/laws-and-regulations.aspx
http://agr.georgia.gov/structural-pest-control-commission.aspx
http://agr.georgia.gov/structural-pest-control-commission.aspx
http://www.agr.georgia.gov/structural
http://www.agr.georgia.gov/structural
mailto:inspection@agr.georgia.gov
mailto:inspection@agr.georgia.gov

